Jean Turmel excellence fellowship

This program is not renewed for the 2014-2015 year. However, the multi-year commitments that IFM2 has already made ​​under previous competitions will be respected according to the established conditions.


Each year, IFM2 grants two awards of excellence "Jean Turmel fellowship" thus named in appreciation of IFM2's first president of the board, from 1999 to 2005.

These awards are granted to the most excellent students at the masters or Ph.D level who obtained a IFM2 fellowship in the current year competition,  Recipients will see their fellowship increased by 50%.

Candidates are identified by the fellowship comitte and award recipients are chosen on the basis of an interview by a selection committee.

Selection criteria

  • Exceptional grades 
  • Quality of recommendation letters
  • Research interests
  • Motivation
  • Quality of publications, if applicable
  • For Ph.D. candidates, quality and interest of the first essay of the thesis.